Re: RTCW Master Server

Make sure to bring lots of med packs, our 64 player beach server is intense!

Moderators: RTCW Admins, Super Moderators, vB3 - Administrators

RTCW Admin
User avatar
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:48 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby Jun1oR » Sun Mar 04, 2012 8:31 pm

*Windows Only*

hosts.zip

Unzip, copy, and replace to C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc *WARNING: Only replace your hosts file if you haven't made any changes to it already.*

or add
Code: Select all
107.161.23.68  wolfmaster.idsoftware.com

to a new line at the bottom of your existing hosts file

*fixes RTCW master server list

*Preview*

Code: Select all
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#    127.0.0.1       localhost
#    ::1             localhost

107.161.23.68   wolfmaster.idsoftware.com
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Jun1oR on Fri May 10, 2013 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RTCW Admin
User avatar
Posts: 647
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Eskilstuna, Sweden

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby S.Shooter » Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:27 pm

So i downloaded S4ndmanns file. instaled it with no problems, now i can't start the game
"recursive error after: MAX_SHADER_STRING_POINTERS exceeded, too many shaders"

What to do?


Edit: Reinstalled instead.
| I5 4670k @ 4.1Ghz | Corsair H50 | MSI Z87-G45 Gaming | 16GB RAM | EVGA GTX 680 SLi | Fractal Design Newton 800w platinum |
| 250GB ssd + 4TB | 3x BenQ XL2420T + 3D Vision gen 2| Win7 x64 | Logitech mx518 | Sennheiser HD 598 |

RTCW Admin
User avatar
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:48 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby Jun1oR » Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:40 pm

S.Shooter wrote:So i downloaded S4ndmanns file. instaled it with no problems, now i can't start the game
"recursive error after: MAX_SHADER_STRING_POINTERS exceeded, too many shaders"

What to do?


Edit: Reinstalled instead.


if you use the hosts file i posted you dont have to make any changes to wolf. all it does is redirects the default master server to an alternate.

Recruit
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby 'L0, » Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:13 pm

Sorry for reviving old thread but just wanted to point out one thing.

Don't replace your hosts file from external source or for that matter, don't replace it with another one no matter where you got it....

Any cracked software or in some cases - a "patched/cracked" legit one you installed at one time, may added entries there...with replacing your hosts file you'll render any changes you've done (unknowingly) useless, so any etc. adobe or office crack you applied will be useless and you'll or may unknowingly download updates and probably new checks and screw your installs...or simply in "legit" case, end up with bunch of commercial links and crap you didn't had before....

Hosts file is not rly a solution for average day users, because in time master server may change and you'll forget where you got info on how to replace thus forget where it's located at first place and will be unable to replace changes...but if you persist you rather instead of replacing your own hosts file and potentially losing any changes you done, simply chose to open it with notepad and add at the bottom:

Code: Select all
91.220.53.73    etmaster.idsoftware.com
107.161.23.68   wolfmaster.idsoftware.com
In this way you wont change what else is already in....

Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 9:04 pm

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby mega » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:41 pm

"id Software has fixed the masterserver after weeks for Quake III / Team Arena, Return to Castle Wolfenstein, Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory."

http://www.esreality.com/post/2242668/masterserver-for-id-games-back-online/

RTCW Admin
User avatar
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:48 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby Jun1oR » Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:02 pm

ET is working but RTCW does not work still

Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:27 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby Ha_hA_HA » Tue May 15, 2012 9:30 pm

Jun1oR wrote:*Windows Only*

Unzip and copy to C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc

*fixes both RTCW and ET master server list

*Preview*

Code: Select all
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#    127.0.0.1       localhost
#    ::1             localhost

91.220.53.73    etmaster.idsoftware.com
107.161.23.68   wolfmaster.idsoftware.com


You can do this with Mac OS X as well. I tested it and it works in case anyone else uses a Mac.

Here is what you need to do in order to edit the hosts file on OS X:

Step 1 – Open the Terminal.app
Either by start typing Terminal on the Spotlight, or by going into Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal.


Step 2 – Open the hosts file
Open the hosts by typing on the Terminal that you have just opened:
$ sudo nano /private/etc/hosts Type your user password when prompted.


Step 3 – Edit the hosts file
The hosts file contains some comments (lines starting with the # symbol), as well as some default hostname mappings (e.g. 127.0.0.1 – localhost).
Simply add the following under the default mappings:


107.161.23.68 wolfmaster.idsoftware.com


Step 4 – Save the hosts file
When done editing the hosts file, press control-o to save the file.
Press enter on the filename prompt, and control-x to exit the editor.


Step 5 – Flush the DNS cache
You can issue a simple Terminal command to flush the DNS cache, and have your host file changes to take immediate effect:
$ dscacheutil -flushcache


I tested it in Mac OS X 10.5.8 and it works perfectly.

Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:16 am

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby Blackdevil1 » Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:43 pm

Jun1oR wrote:if you use the hosts file i posted you dont have to make any changes to wolf. all it does is redirects the default master server to an alternate.


TY So much! That worked perfect, it seems as though all servers are back?

TOAK< EGN< SANDMOD<ETC~PUN!


So Easy too, I simply extracted to C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc and booted up the game!

Thanks Again!

Recruit
User avatar
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:24 am

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby thegamecat » Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:53 am

Thanks for sorting this!

RTCW Admin
Posts: 1218
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 8:21 am
Location: State College, PA

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby MAN-AT-ARMS » Sun May 04, 2014 5:07 pm

*Updated the posts to reflect the new IP that should be used in the hosts file*

107.161.23.68

Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:51 pm

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby jaydubpdx » Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:18 pm

I am a noob when it comes to this. I can't find a hosts file, nor do I see a download link in this thread that seems to be mentioned. I am trying to figure out how to get the master server working, but I can't seem to understand the instructions. Apparently, I am not as smart as I previously believed. Can someone include a step-by-step to help aide me in the correct direction? Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
James

RTCW Admin
User avatar
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:48 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby Jun1oR » Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:45 pm

OP now has a link to the host file to download and it's location is in "C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\"

Recruit
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby 'L0, » Tue Jun 17, 2014 8:55 am

jaydubpdx wrote:I am a noob when it comes to this. I can't find a hosts file, nor do I see a download link in this thread that seems to be mentioned. I am trying to figure out how to get the master server working, but I can't seem to understand the instructions. Apparently, I am not as smart as I previously believed. Can someone include a step-by-step to help aide me in the correct direction? Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
James

1) Click my computer and click on a drive where windows is installed (usually it's C drive)
2) Once on drive, navigate to windows \ system32 \ drivers \ etc
3) Once there, you'll see few files, one is called hosts
4) Right click on it and select open
5) From window that will pop up select notepad
5.a) If there's nothing under options list, then select 2nd option (not internet..) and navigate to windows folder and look for notepad..
6) Once file is opened click on the bottom of file and add following entry in a new line: wolfmaster.idsoftware.com dpmaster.deathmask.net and press enter so there's a blank new line at the end.
7) Click save, run the game and click "get new list"

NOTE: If you have any antivirus running or UAC enabled, then before step4 temporary disable antivirus / run as administrator...

That's about it.

P.S. People here seem ignorant about my warnings of not using other people's hosts file..I already helped few when they screwed theirs..so a simple warning to you as well, do not use other people's hosts file..it's a simple process so simply follow it and that way you are on the safe side in case if any other app's created entries there during install, patch..

RTCW Admin
User avatar
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:48 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby Jun1oR » Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:24 am

added a warning in the OP just for you Nate :pilot:

Recruit
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: RTCW Master Server

Postby 'L0, » Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:09 pm

Was about time, albeit ambiguous as few really know when it's applied as it's usually during install or patch without advertising. :p

Tho it's not really for me. People that don't know about hosts, will probably have problems figuring out what's wrong if, when some update server of random application will stop working. Warez often dumps stuff in as a way to avoid nulling it or get "caught" due legit upgrade, also legit apps dump in stuff at times - i.e. first versions of nero had that habit during upgrade for consistency and legacy support, sloppy way of doing things but was totally legit in that manner.

P.S. I suggest you also change from IP to url (dpmaster.deathmask.net) , as Willis (one running it) mention to use domain rather then IP, which implies he may be migrating at times.

Next

Return to Return To Castle Wolfenstein

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest