irq problems

Off topic, but don't go too far overboard - after all, we are watching...heh.
RTCW Admin
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:26 am
Location: London, England

irq problems

Postby magus » Wed Oct 01, 2014 6:56 am

Hi guys- I've had a problem with my soundcard for a while now, read lots of guides but never fixed it. It's an Audiophile 2496, and it seems it needs it's own IRQ or it cause issues, crackles etc- which is the problem I have. I don't really understand how I go about changing the IRQ or trying to give it it's own one- might there be someone in the community who wouldn't mind taking me through it? Thanks in advance

magus

RTCW Admin
Posts: 1232
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 8:21 am
Location: State College, PA

Re: irq problems

Postby MAN-AT-ARMS » Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:42 pm

You would have to do that in your BIOS settings.
You need to press the correct key when starting computer to enter the BIOS setup. (Usually F1,F2,Delete)

Look around in there for IRQ settings. You might want to disable "Plug n Play OS" as well if you see that.

Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: irq problems

Postby 'L0, » Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:45 am

Generally IRQ is not an issue as long as you're not using 3rd grade hardware or duplicating it (i.e. 2 pci lans..). In your case issue is probably tied to a fact you also have onboard audio? - In that case, there are few options you can try;

a) Disable onboard audio in bios
b) Disable "Plug & play"
c) Resolve this issue on software level:
- Make sure onboard audio is disabled
- Uninstall drivers
d) If neither works you can open your computer and try moving sound card (if possible) to a different PCI slot.

Go with A..if it doesn't work, try B...

Return to The Smokin' Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests